The personal data retention settings allow you to control how long we store your personal timeline data for independently of your team data retention settings. This gives you even more control over the way your private data is managed.
The personal data retention period is the period of time we will keep your data for. This means anything older than the time period you set will be permanently deleted. So if you set your retention period to 2 weeks, then all personal timeline data older than 2 weeks will be discarded. Anything older than 2 weeks from the current day will be discarded on a daily basis.
By default, the longest available period is set for you. The options for retention are aligned with your plan type and can be managed in your Profile page.
Can my personal data retention period be different from my team?
The personal and team data retention periods are applied independently of one another so it is possible to have different retention settings for personal data and team data. This is because each data retention period setting refers to a different part of the data:
Personal Data: this refers to all of your timeline data, included unposted data. Your personal data retention settings control this.
Team Data: this refers only to the time you have posted to that team. This is controlled by the team data retention settings and is independent of your personal settings. Team managers and admins are able to set this period for the team data.
Article is closed for comments.