Who can see my data?
Your data is 100% private to you. Your timeline cannot be seen by anyone, not even managers or administrators. To share your data and make it visible to your team managers, you must post your time to your team. Prior to posting your time, you are able to add manual time entries or delete any entries. You have total control over your data and what you wish to share, when and with whom.
What happens with my time that is not posted?
Any unposted time simply remains in your private timeline and cannot be accessed by anyone else unless you post it or your personal retention period expires. Learn more about your personal data retention settings here.
How does WiseTime know what title to use for time entries?
WiseTime takes the activity summary from the active applications’ window titles. If there are several windows open, it will always capture the active window – this is the frontmost window; it usually has coloured minimise and close buttons - as opposed to grey ones. Some common examples are:
- Microsoft Word or Excel: the document title is captured
- Outlook: the email subject line is captured
- Web pages: the title of the page is captured. This title will vary depending on which site and page you are on. To check a window’s title, you can hover over the tab or bookmark the page – the title will be shown as the default name for the bookmark.
How much information does WiseTime store, and is WiseTime able to view data inside the application windows?
No, WiseTime is not able to view information that is inside the application window. The only data that WiseTime can see is the window title - never any content!
We have also built-in several privacy controls to ensure that any window titles or applications you do not want to be captured are excluded. You can also choose whether you would like the URL of a site to be recorded alongside the title for additional meta-data, or not. See the user guide for more information on how to edit these personal settings.
Can I see what my staff are doing in real-time?
WiseTime is a privacy-first tool, so the individual has full control over their own data and can choose how much to share and when. This means that, as a manager, you can only view your team’s time once the team members have selected and deliberately posted their time to the team. WiseTime is not a tool to monitor or spy on employees but rather a tool to aid the individual’s productivity and ease the strain of timekeeping for professional services.
Can my personal data retention period be different from my team?
The personal and team data retention periods are applied independently of one another so it is possible to have different retention settings for personal data and team data. This is because each data retention period setting refers to a different part of the data:
- Personal Data: This refers to all of your timeline data, including unposted data. Your personal data retention settings control this.
- Team Data: This refers only to the time you have posted to that team. This is controlled by the team data retention settings and is independent of your personal settings. Team managers and admins are able to set this period for the team data.
Is WiseTime GDPR Compliant?
Yes, WiseTime abides to the highest standards of personal privacy and data protection ensuring that we met GDPR and other privacy regulations.
We only ever collect essential data and we have features such as data retention settings, plus the ability for the individual to invoke the right to be forgotten, that ensure your data management is always within your control. We use encryption and SSL protocols to ensure the security of data.
WiseTime embraces Privacy by Design, so each feature is always scrutinised in how it might affect this and individual privacy is always put first. For more information you can read our cookie and privacy policies.
Article is closed for comments.