What happens if I post time to my connected system without a tag?
Tags tell WiseTime where to put your posted time within your connected system. If you post any time to your connected system that does not contain a tag, WiseTime will not know where to place that information and it will, therefore, be disregarded.
There is a setting under the team settings page in the console that, when enabled, ensures no time can be posted without a tag. Team admins and managers can enable this setting at any time and once it is enabled users trying to post time without a tag will receive an error message until a tag is applied.
What happens if there are multiple tags against one entry?
When there are multiple tags present on a time entry, the WiseTime connector handles this by equally dividing and distributing the total time amongst the matters for which tags are assigned in your practice management system. For example, if you have Case A and Case B tagged against a task that took 30 minutes, once this task is posted there will be a 15 minutes present for Case A and 15 minutes for Case B. Alternatively, if this does not suit your use case, the WiseTime connector can be reconfigured to allow for the total time for the entry to be added in full to each matter.
What happens if the case reference changes?
When WiseTime is connected to your practice management system all the new cases that are created are always synced up to the WiseTime console. When you change a case reference, however, WiseTime cannot automatically detect such change but you can add the new tag in the WiseTime console as an “alias” to the original case reference. WiseTime will then continue to automatically tag either of the two references when detected.
What happens with the time that is deleted by the user?
WiseTime uses a double confirmation for deletions. On the first delete, the time is “disabled” so that it cannot be posted or acted upon, but it is still present in the timeline marked as “to be deleted”. This allows the user the option to “undelete” the entry. Once the user empties the trash the time is removed from the timeline and is terminally deleted.
What if I wish to decrease the total time spent on a task?
When posting time, you are able to group the time entries then double click on the total time of the group to adjust it. This means if, for example, you have activities that total 3 hours but you wish to only charge the client for 2 hours, you are able to do so using the grouping functionality and reducing the chargeable time. If WiseTime is connected to your practice management system and this system supports the distinction between worked time and chargeable time, then WiseTime will post both, the actual time you worked on the matter and the adjusted time to charge to the client with against this matter.
Will the customer see all of the detail of the time I post in their invoice?
By default, WiseTime will always include the details when posting time to a connected practice management system. You have the option to not send these to your connected system by using the grouping function and unticking the box “Include details from following time entries”. Depending on your invoice set up and where the time has been configured to be sent within your connected system, you might also be able to create an overview or simplified invoice and attach the finer details in an appendix.
Can I “unpost” time?
No, this is not possible. The strict privacy-centric design of WiseTime makes the process of posting activity times a crucial event both conceptually and technically. Once a user posts their time to a connected practice management system, it is sent to this system much in the same way as an email is sent to a recipient (or a letter posted). Posting times represents a one-way handover of your private data to your team which also stores it in the connected practice management system. We cannot retrieve such posted time back from the connected practice management system nor delete any information therefrom. It may be possible for the user our system admin to delete information from the connected practice management system, however, this is out of our reach.