Who can see my data?
Your data is 100% private to you. Your timeline cannot be seen by anyone, not even managers or administrators. To share your data and make it visible to your team managers, you must post your time to your team. Prior to posting your time, you are able to add manual time entries or delete any entries. You have total control over your data and what you wish to share, when and with whom.
What happens with my time that is not posted?
Any unposted time simply remains in your private timeline and cannot be accessed by anyone else unless you post it. The unposted time remains securely in your private timeline based on your personal data retention period. Learn more about your personal data retention settings here.
How does WiseTime know what title to use for time entries?
WiseTime takes the activity summary from the active applications’ window title. If there are several windows open, it will always capture the active window – this is the window that the mouse would scroll in. Some common examples are:
- Microsoft Word or Excel: the document title is captured
- Outlook: the email subject line is captured
- Web pages: the title of the page is captured. This title will vary depending on which site and page you are on. To check a window’s title, you can hover over the tab or bookmark the page – the title will be shown as the default name for the bookmark.
How much information does WiseTime store, and is WiseTime able to view data inside the applications and windows?
No, WiseTime is not able to view information that is inside the application or window. The only data that WiseTime can see is the window title.
We have also built-in several privacy controls to ensure that any window titles or applications you do not want to be captured are excluded. You can also choose whether you would like the URL of a site to be captured alongside the title for additional meta-data, or not. See the user guide for more information on how to edit these personal settings.
Can I see what my staff are doing in real-time?
WiseTime is a privacy-first tool, so the individual has full control over their data and can choose how much to share and when. This means that, as a manager, you can only view your team’s time once they have selected and deliberately posted it to the team. WiseTime is not a tool to monitor employees but rather a tool to aid the individual’s productivity and ease the strain of timekeeping for professional services.
Can my personal data retention period be different from my team?
The personal and team data retention periods are applied independently of one another so it is possible to have different retention settings for personal data and team data. This is because each data retention period setting refers to a different part of the data:
- Personal Data: This refers to all of your timeline data, including unposted data. Your personal data retention settings control this.
- Team Data: This refers only to the time you have posted to that team. This is controlled by the team data retention settings and is independent of your personal settings. Team managers and admins are able to set this period for the team data.